Spring 2018

Tessa Solomon-Lane, along with Travis Hagey and Alexa Warwick from MSU hosted an energizing and inspiring science communication workshop on Feb 5 at UT Austin, funded by the BEACON Center. Excellent work!


Fall 2017

Interested in the effects of mutation on the structure of proteins with known disease phenotypes? A new NIH website has just been released after contributions from Caitie McCafferty, a rotating Cell and Molecular Biology graduate student in our lab. Very cool! 

Great news!!! Hofmann Lab alumna Lauren O'Connell has been awarded the Frank A. Beach Young Investigator Award by the Society for Behavioral Neuroendocrinology! Wonderful to hear about this well-deserved honor!

Megan Chan has been invited to present a poster on her research at the student poster competition at the 2018 AAAS Annual Meeting in Austin. Great job Megan!!

Tessa Solomon-Lane and Hans Hofmann, in collaboration with Alexa Warwick and Travis Hagey from MSU/BEACON, have been awarded a grant from BEACON for their work broadening participation and the scope of public engagement. Great news!

Congratulations to Caitlin Friesen for receiving the Zoology Scholarship Endowment for Excellence from the UT EEB graduate program!

Tessa Solomon-Lane has a great new BEACON blog post out on framing your message and how to talk to policy. Check it out at


Summer 2017

Isaac Miller-Crews has been awarded a $2000 Start-up Grant by the EEB program. Great work Isaac!!!

Congratulations to Caitlin who has been awarded an EEB Summer Fellowship!


Spring 2017

So happy to share that Rayna Harris has been offered a Data Science Postdoctoral Fellowship at UC Berkeley! Great work Rayna!!!

Mariana Rodriguez has been awarded a Global Research Fellowship that will help her to visit Konstanz, Germany to collaborate with Alex Jordan! Great work Mariana, we're excited for you!!

We are so excited to celebrate with Sean Maguire after he successfully defended his PhD thesis! Great job!!

Becca and Hareem both did a fantastic job presenting a poster at the Undergraduate Research Forum Symposium. Great work! Both were also awarded an Undergraduate Research Fellowship (URF)!! Congratulations!!!

Tessa Solomon-Lane helped to spearhead a great BEACON public engagement workshop. Check out her blog post to learn more! 

Excited to announce that Hareem Usmani and Becca Butler were both awareded Undergraduate Research Fellowships to support their research. Congratulations!!

Mariana Rodriguez has been awarded the Bruton Graduate School Fellowship to help subsidize her research. Great work!!


Fall 2016

Great news! The Hofmann lab and collaborators at MSU received $1.84 million NSF grant to pursue research studying the evolution of three-spined stickleback throughout Iceland. 

Former undergraduate Vyshnavi Karri is now a medical student at McGovern Medical School in Houston. Congratulations!

Mariana Rodriguez successfully advanced into candidacy! Now that she's finalized the planning on a number of exciting experiments, we're really looking forward to what she finds out next.

Spring 2016

Rayna Harris was awarded a $40,000 Fellowship by the Graduate School! These university-wide fellowships are very competitive and prestigious and only a handful of students even get nominated. Congrats!

Chelsea Weitekamp received a Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grant (DDIG) from the National Science Foundation! This is a tremendous achievement and very much deserved!

Rayna Harris was awarded $500 from the Graduate Student Association and the Student Government in support of the 4th Annual Big Data in Biology Symposium!

Rayna Harris received a $1000 "Grants in Aid of Research Award" from the Society for Integrative & Comparative Biology in support of her thesis research!

Sylvia Garza has been offered a position at STRI in Panama to work with Richard Merrill and Chris Jiggins on Heliconius wing pattern evolution! This is a great opportunity and well deserved!

Fall 2015

Former graduate student Lauren O'Connell receives and NSF grant to support her research on the mechanisms of toxin sequestration in poison frogs!

Spring 2015

Two awesome undergrads, Vy Karri and Pamela De Valle, were awarded an Undergraduate Research Fellowship to support their exciting research!

Sean Maguire was awarded a Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grant (DDIG) by the National Science Foundation!